Home > Asian, food > Chicken Adobo (kinda) over brown spinach rice

Chicken Adobo (kinda) over brown spinach rice

September 14, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Chicken adobo

Adobo is so easy to make and requires minimal ingredients. We made it twice while traveling in Africa. Adobo is also really flexible. I have about ten days to finish as much of my pantry as possible. All I had to buy was some chicken and garlic. I was able to use up a bottle of soy sauce, a bottle of white vinegar, a bottle of red wine vinegar, some apple cider vinegar, some frozen spinach and some brown rice. I also cleared out a can of quail eggs and a can of bamboo shoots. Not bad!!

Eating through one’s pantry can mean not getting enough vegetables, so I snuck some frozen spinach into the rice cooker for some “spinach rice” and I also steamed a crown of broccoli by putting some cut up broccoli on top of the adobo right before we were ready to eat.

Chicken adobo (kinda) over spinach brown riceChicken adobo w/quail eggs & bamboo shoots over brown spinach rice

Adobo fried brown riceDay 2: adobo fried spinach rice

My “adobo” is different every time and I don’t really adhere to the traditional recipe since mine is more of a cross between Filipino adobo and Vietnamese thit kho. But that’s the fun of cooking. Here are a few other versions I’ve made: Chicken & Pork Adobo, Chinese Sticky Rice w/adobo, and Adobo Fried Rice.

Also, you’ll have to excuse the photo quality. My SLR is already in San Francisco and my new work laptop doesn’t have an SD card reader so I’ve just been using my Blackberry.

Categories: Asian, food Tags:
  1. September 14, 2010 at 4:44 pm

    The photo quality is fine..great for a camera phone in fact.The recipe looks interesting,Ive eaten quail eggs before and find them delicious.Thanks for posting!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment