Home > Asian, food, snacks, sweets > Vietnamese Yogurt

Vietnamese Yogurt

December 14, 2016 Leave a comment Go to comments
Vietnamese yogurt!

yogurt before incubation

My mom used to make her own yogurt when I was a kid. A few years ago, I got sentimental and my cousin gave me a yogurt maker to try to recreate the experience. It took 4 attempts and 3 different recipes over the course of 3 years, but I finally figured out how to make Vietnamese yogurt in a yogurt machine!

This recipe yields the perfect amount (7 individual six-ounce glass jars) for my Euro cuisine yogurt maker and only uses a few ingredients resulting in the perfect Vietnamese yogurt that I don’t have to trek to The Tenderloin for. For this finally perfect batch, I used Longevity brand sweetened condensed milk, Strauss organic plain whole fat yogurt and 1% milk. I just bought Trader Joe’s brand organic sweetened condensed milk and will see if that makes any difference. And no, I haven’t figured out the yogurt function on the Instant Pot.

Vietnamese yogurt!

Vietnamese Yogurt (from whiteonricecouple.com)

  • 1 can (14oz.) Sweetened Condensed Milk
  • 1.5 cup very hot water
  • 1.25 cup milk
  • 1 cup plain yogurt
  1. In medium bowl, mix together can of sweetened condensed milk with very hot water.
  2. In a larger bowl, whisk milk and yogurt together until smooth.
  3. Pour condensed milk mixture into yogurt mixture and mix well.
  4. Pour into individual containers and incubate for 8 hours.

If you want more detailed instructions for making it on the stovetop without a yogurt maker, visit whiteonricecouple.com

Categories: Asian, food, snacks, sweets
  1. Linda
    March 7, 2020 at 11:57 pm

    Thanks so much for sharing this recipe. I’ve made it a few times and it comes out perfect! Was wondering if I wanted to use less condensed milk to reduce the amount of sugar, what adjustments would I need to make? I tried using 2/3 can condensed milk with no other adjustments and the consistency did not turn out as firm as the original recipe. A tad watery. Would I need to add more yogurt or milk or maybe? Do you have any suggestions? Thank you!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment