Home > food, sweets > Butter Mochi

Butter Mochi

Mochi butter cake

Late last year (this is how behind I am on posting), I had dinner with a friend at Liholiho Yacht Club. One of the desserts we shared was Butter Mochi, a sticky, chewy, not too sweet coconutty dessert that reminded me of a better version of banh bo, a Vietnamese dessert.

Reservations at Liholiho are hard to come by, as is time away from my kid, so rather than wait a while for another opportunity to eat there, I asked a Hawaiian friend if she had a recipe. She immediately texted me a photo of a recipe from one of those old school PTA fundraising books and I made it for a family lunch. Simple, quick and easy. Just my style these days! I reduced the sugar in the original recipe by a tad to what you see below:

Butter Mochi

  • 1 lb (1 box) mochiko sweet rice flour
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 3 cups milk
  • 5 eggs, beaten
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup flaked coconut (unsweetened)
  1. Preheat oven to 350F
  2. In large bowl, combine mochiko, sugar and baking powder
  3. Mix in remaining ingredients
  4. Pour into a 13″x9″ pan
  5. Bake for 1 hour and cool
  6. Cut into squares and serve

Categories: food, sweets
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

