Archive

Archive for May 5, 2010

Shrimp & Grits w/okra

May 5, 2010 1 comment

Shrimp & Grits w/okra

As you can probably tell, I love shrimp & grits and make it more than once in a while. I almost ordered shrimp & grits when we went out for breakfast the next morning but was advised against it. I have a habit of overindulging in repetitive eating and then get sick of eating whatever that is. My inclination is also the reason I was a vegetarian for five years, but that’s another story for another time.

I always make some bastardized iteration of the basic recipe. This time, I used fire roasted tomatoes with green chiles, shallots (didn’t feel like going to the grocery store for onions), Trader Joe’s chicken andouille sausage, frozen okra, large shrimp, red pepper flakes and a healthy dash of Frank’s Red Hot. Joel used blue cheese and frozen white corn for the grits.

I think I prefer pancetta or bacon as the meat flavoring in this dish. The chicken andouille is too lean and not salty enough to flavor the whole thing. However, I loooooooooove okra!

Categories: food, seafood, Southern Tags: , , ,