Home > seafood, sides, Southern, vegetables > Shrimp & Grits w/sausage & kale

Shrimp & Grits w/sausage & kale

Shrimp & grits

You’ve seen me make shrimp & grits before, but this version is slightly different because it included kale (my first time ever cooking this!) and jalapeno chicken sausages.

Shrimp & grits

Shrimp & grits

Basically, I sliced two sausages, pan-fried them, and set them aside. Next, I sauteed onions and garlic until translucent and then added a few handfuls of chopped kale and a chopped tomato. After the kale cooked down (it took quite a while), I added a can of fire-roasted garlic tomatoes and then threw in a pound of peeled & deveined shrimp. Seasoned with a few shakes of hot pepper flakes, salt and pepper…at the very end, I gave it all a healthy dose of Frank’s Red Hot. Joel made the grits using simply water (no butter or cream), salt & pepper, and a bit of grated parmesan. I had intended on putting some frozen white corn into the grits for added sweetness but got sidetracked and forgot–boo!!

I really loved the addition of kale to this…got some veggies in and maintained a crunchy texture that offset the mushiness of everything else. I can’t wait until tomatoes are in season so I can use those instead of canned tomatoes! Also, I am incapable of cooking for two…this “recipe” serves 4-6 people, which just means Joel & I get to eat the yummy leftovers for lunch. Tomorrow, I’ll warm up the shrimp and serve it over a bed of spinach for a sort of warm spinach salad.

Roasted cauliflower w/chickpeas, olives & gardiniera
Roasted cauliflower w/chickpeas, olives & gardiniera

I had forgotten about the kale when I went to the store, so picked up some cauliflower to roast for dinner as well. We have also made this before, but this time, we added a few spoonfulls of gardiniere instead of just olives. Brilliant!! We had the leftovers on top of spinach for lunch–another tasty salad.

Finally, we watched Food, Inc. last night (and have both also read Michael Pollan’s Omnivore’s Dilemma) and are going to try to eat vegetarian at least once a week. This shouldn’t be too difficult since I was a vegetarian (though not a healthy one) for five years (during high school & college) and Joel has dabbled in it as well. I cut high fructose corn syrup out of my diet years ago, but we can always strive to eat better.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. March 16, 2010 at 11:37 am
  2. May 5, 2010 at 10:24 am

Leave a Reply

