Archive

Archive for March 18, 2010

Colombian Eats

March 18, 2010 Leave a comment

Bogota, Colombia

I haven’t taken many pictures of food here since I have mostly been in a business setting and that would just be weird. We had some amazing ceviches our first day here that I wish I had taken pictures of. However, here’s what I  can show you. Above is ajiaco–a typical Colombian stew generally eaten for lunch and made with chicken, three types of potato, and a cob of corn. It is served with a side of white rice, a slice of avocado, capers, and some sort of cream…really good (but incredibly filling)!

Bogota, Colombia

Yes, this was an incredibly heavy lunch. We also shared arepas con chorizo (corn cakes with sausages), patacones (mashed/fried plantains covered in cheese…kinda nacho-ish), and empanadas (cheese and meat ones, below).

Bogota, Colombia

Finally, we have also been eating a lot of tropical fruits. The one below is a yellow dragon fruit (thanks, Tammy!). However, this one is smaller and much sweeter than the reddish dragon fruits I’ve had in Asia.

Bogota, Colombia

Categories: Colombia, travels Tags: