Archive

Archive for January 27, 2010

Chex Party Mix

January 27, 2010 Leave a comment

Wasabi Chex Mix

I LOVE homemade Chex mix. I didn’t eat it growing up, but in high school, my best friend’s mom always made it. She would always get mad because we would inevitably eat the entire batch before it finished cooling. I don’t really like the Chex mix you buy from the store because I find it too salty and I don’t like wheat chex or bagel chips.

When visiting some friends last year, I was gifted with a gallon batch of Chex mix, which I promptly destroyed. His had no wheat chex but included honey roasted peanuts, which I find to be a nice complement to the saltiness of the rest of the mix. Last week, I figured I’d try my hand at Chex mix. I made two half batches based on the recipe on the Chex web site. I tried to make a wasabi batch with some wasabi powder I had, but I guess I didn’t put in enough wasabi powder because you couldn’t really taste the difference.

CHEX PARTY MIX

  • 3 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 3/4 teaspoon Lawry’s seasoned salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon onion powder
  • 2 1/4cups Corn Chex®
  • 2 1/4cups Rice Chex®
  • 1/2 cup Honey Nut Cheerios
  • 1/2 cup honey roasted peanuts
  • 1/2 cup butter pretzels
  • 1/2 bag M&Ms

DIRECTIONS

  1. Heat oven to 250°F.
  2. In large bowl, mix cereals, nuts, and pretzels; set aside.
  3. In ungreased 13×9-inch pan, melt butter in oven. Stir in seasonings.
  4. Gradually stir in cereal mixture until evenly coated. Bake 45 minutes, stirring every 15 minutes.
  5. Spread on paper towels to cool, about 15 minutes.
  6. Mix in M&Ms.
  7. Store in airtight container.

Wasabi Chex Mix
I used 1 teaspoon of wasabi powder and wasn’t able to taste any difference. I will try adding more next time. I also have Chinese hot mustard powder that I would like to try adding in next time as well. I destroyed this bag in less than two days.

Categories: appetizers, snacks Tags: , ,