Home > appetizers, dip, food, seafood, snacks > Smoked Whitefish Dip

Smoked Whitefish Dip

Smoked Trout Dip

I lived in NYC for a summer on the Upper West Side. At that time, I didn’t cook because I had ten short weeks to take in all that the city had to offer. I knew I wouldn’t be moving there long-term, so I had to take advantage of the time I had. One of my favorite snacks in my neighborhood was the whitefish dip from Zabar’s. I could finish the container with some pita chips in one sitting. Costco also sells a 1 lb tub that is a bit much, so when I got the craving today, I figured it out for myself.

You can use any smoked fish for this recipe, but I used trout. I was home alone for the weekend and ended up finishing the entire batch in about 24 hours.

Smoked Trout Dip

For the chives, add as much as you want. The easiest way to deal with them is to use scissors to snip them directly into your dip. The original recipe has diced red onions but I don’t love raw onions so I substituted some celery for the crunch.

Smoked Fish Dip (adapted from Food Network recipe)

  • ~8 oz smoked fish
  • 1/2 cup soft cream cheese (4 oz)
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1 Tbsp prepared horseradish
  • Chopped chives to taste
  • black pepper to taste
  • 1 Tbsp minced celery
  1. Remove the skin from the fish and flake the fish. Watch out for bones!
  2. In a food processor, mix together cream cheese, sour cream and horseradish.
  3. Add fish and pulse until its a smooth dip. Transfer to a bowl.
  4. Stir in chives, black pepper and celery.
  5. Chill and serve with pita chips, sliced baguettes or celery.
Categories: appetizers, dip, food, seafood, snacks Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

