Home > food, sweets > Stone Fruit Crumb Bars

Stone Fruit Crumb Bars

Peach crumb bar

It’s peach season!!! I wanted to bring dessert to a family gathering but know that the elders don’t eat overly sweet things (neither do I). I love this recipe because it is so quick and easy, only requires pantry ingredients, and is a good way to get rid of fruit that is on its last legs. I’ve made this with blueberries before and made one with strawberries, blueberries and peaches the following week. My 81-year-old aunt took home some bars to have with her morning coffee. Win!

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Yellow peaches are usually best for baking but I had some white peaches and yellow nectarines that were slowly dying in the fridge so I used a mix of everything. Peeling peaches is kind of a pain  though I’m told if you blanch them in hot water and shock them in ice water, they’ll peel much easier. I was lazy and ultimately made more work for myself.

I used about 1/4 cup sugar less than is called for in this recipe because my family doesn’t eat extraordinarily sweet desserts and peaches are already quite sweet themselves. If I used something more tart such as strawberries, I would use the full 1.5 cups of sugar. I also only had 5 cups of fruit but would like my bars a bit fruitier in the future. If you want more bar than fruit, leave it at 5 cups. If you’d like a little more, up the fruit to 6 cups.

Stone Fruit Crumb Bars (adapted from Smitten Kitchen)

  • 1.5 cups sugar (adjust down for sweeter fruit, leave for tarter fruit)
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 2 sticks cold, unsalted butter cut into small pieces (16 Tbsp)
  • 1 large egg
  • 5-6 cups peeled chopped peaches & nectarines
  • 5 tsp cornstarch
  • zest and juice of 1 lemon
  • optional: pinch of nutmeg and/or cinnamon

1. Preheat the oven to 375F. Grease a 9×13 inch pan.

2. In a medium bowl, combine 1 cup sugar, flour, baking powder, salt and lemon zest. Blend in butter & egg until dough is crumbly. (I use my food processor and pulse everything together because I don’t have a pastry cutter.) Pat half of dough into the pan.

3. In another bowl, combine the remaining 1/2 cup of sugar, cornstarch and lemon juice. Gently mix in the fruit and spread evenly over the crust you have in the pan. Crumble the rest of your dough over the fruit layer.

4. Bake for 45-60 minutes or until top is slightly brown. Cool completely before cutting into squares.

Eat this quickly as it will be soggy and not as delicious more than a day after you bake it!

I also made this with 6 cups of strawberries, blueberries and peaches the following week and it was DELICIOUS:

Strawberry, blueberry, peach crumb bar

Categories: food, sweets Tags: ,
  1. August 5, 2012 at 4:26 pm

    Yum!!!!! My hubby’s favorite fruit is peaches. I NEED to make this for him!!

  2. Kathy
    August 7, 2012 at 11:59 am

    I love peaches! I made this bar recipe last year http://smittenkitchen.com/category/cookie/bars/ and it was just OK. The one you made looks amazing1

  1. April 1, 2013 at 2:03 pm

Leave a Reply

