Home > Asian, seafood, soup, Thai > Thai Sausage & Coconut Mussels

Thai Sausage & Coconut Mussels

Thai Sausage & Coconut Mussels

I go through intense food phases where I just can’t get enough of something. The duration is unpredictable and sometimes I get so sick of what I was just obsessed with, I won’t eat it again for a while (my scallop phase scarred me for 3 years). When I was a kid, my mom would eventually catch on to my pattern and try to get ahead of the curve by getting the items in bulk or on sale. If she was lucky, I’d plow through her supply. If she caught me at the tail end of a phase, she’d be stuck with large amounts whatever it might be. A few weeks ago, I was going through several boxes of sumo citrus a week. The season abruptly ended…and now all I can think about is mussels.

I love moules frites at restaurants. I stopped eating them for a bit after Bourdain wrote in Kitchen Confidential that they often sit in their own urine. However, my abstinence was short-lived. I realized that I’ve always enjoyed mussels and never gotten sick…thus, urine or not, I still enjoy mussels.

In any case, my favorites usually include coconut or chorizo in the broth. I’ve never had it with both and was strongly considering it until I remembered I had some Thai sausage in the freezer. After looking up a few recipes on how to clean and cook mussels, I ran out to the farmer’s market for 2 lbs of mussels and some crusty bread to sop up the broth.

I scaled my recipe so that I could use the entire can of coconut milk. When I started cooking, I realized 2 lbs of mussels wasn’t going to be enough (I forgot to account for the weight of shells). I looked through my freezer and found a few frozen prawns, 2 tilapia filets and the piddly remainders from a bag of Trader Joe’s mixed seafood to supplement my mussels. In the future, I’d use either 4 lbs of mussels, 2 lbs mussels + 1-1.5 lb seafood, or 2-2.5 lbs seafood. Using more seafood turns it into something of a chowder, which is also something I’ll do in the future. YUM!!!

I have some mussels in the freezer for a moqueca (Brazilian seafood stew) tonight…stay tuned.

Thai Sausage & Coconut Mussels

Just a few ingredients because the Thai sausage is doing all the flavoring for me

Thai Sausage & Coconut Mussels

Fresh mussels from the Alemany Farmer's Market

Thai Sausage & Coconut Mussels

Crusty sourdough from Panorama Baking

 

Thai Sausage & Coconut Mussels

makes 3-4 dinner-sized portions

  • 1 lb thai sausage
  • sake, wine vinegar or white wine
  • 2 tomatoes, diced
  • 1 can coconut milk
  • 1-1.5 cups seafood stock or clam juice
  • 3-4 lbs mussels (or any combination of seafood you want–less if not using shellfish)
  • 1 lime
  • fistfull of cilantro, chiffonade
  • fish sauce to taste
  1. In a hot pan with a little olive oil, brown the sausage.
  2. Add tomatoes and a healthy splash of alcohol.
  3. When the tomatoes start to cook and your alcohol starts to burn off and reduce, add coconut milk and seafood stock. Bring to a boil.
  4. Turn heat to medium/simmer, add seafood (if you’re adding shrimp, hold off) and half of the cilantro. Cover pot until mussels open and release their juices, about 5 mins.
  5. Add shrimp if you want.
  6. When everything is cooked to your liking, add fish sauce and lime juice to taste. Toss in the remaining cilantro. Serve hot in large bowls with lots of crusty bread to sop up the broth.
Mariners vs White Sox

We got lucky last weekend with sunny skies in Seattle

Categories: Asian, seafood, soup, Thai Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

