Home > sweets > Birthday Feast #4: Peanut Butter Pie #apieformikey

Birthday Feast #4: Peanut Butter Pie #apieformikey

Pb pie

2014’s pie used chocolate wafer cookies, salted peanuts and sliced bananas

And finally, his birthday dessert.

Joel loves peanut butter. He also loves ice cream. I asked him which one he loved more and after some thought, he answered peanut butter. With that, I knew I’d finally make the peanut butter pie–the one that moved so many people to make pies for their loved ones.

This pie was so simple, didn’t require any baking and wasn’t too sweet for my tastes. I really enjoyed putting it together. The morning after his birthday party, I topped a piece of pie with sliced bananas. He looked at me and said I have to make this again next year. I’d say that’s a success!

PB Pie

Chocolate wafer cookies for the crust held together a lot better than the previous year’s graham cracker crust.

Peanut Butter Pie

2012’s chocolate graham cracker crust was a bit crumbly

Peanut Butter Pie

Ready for the fridge. Toppings go on last!

A few notes:

  • I used chocolate graham crackers because the store didn’t have chocolate cookies. The crust was a little crumbly so if I used the graham crackers in a springform pan again, I’d add a little more butter to the crust.
  • I loved the peanuts at the bottom of the pie and would add a little more. Maybe mix in some salted peanuts.
  • I love peanut butter and bananas, so my pie will have sliced bananas on top moving forward.
  • I’ve never made my own whipped cream before so I got a little nervous when it took a little longer than expected. Make sure to turn up the speed and be patient…it’ll happen.
  • Next year, I’d like to make individual sized peanut butter pies in jelly jars. That way, I don’t have to cut up the pie and everyone has a cutely packaged portion! Also, the crumbly crust won’t be an issue either.
  • (Added 4/1): I used 9 ounces of Nabisco Chocolate Wafers this time and the crust worked much better. I also got lazy and didn’t melt the chocolate and just threw in some chocolate chips. Most people liked it but I didn’t (too crunchy). Salted peanuts & bananas were winners! Definitely more bananas next time.

 

For a complete recap of his birthday feast: Jalapeno Popper Dip, Baked Potato Casserole, and Porchetta & Caramelized Onion Sliders.

(Edited 4/1/2013 with new/more pictures from this year’s birthday)

Categories: sweets Tags: ,
  1. Shannon Zimmerman
    July 30, 2012 at 5:02 pm

    How did the chocolate graham cracker crust compare to chocolate cookies (or oreos)? This looks tasty; thanks for sharing. Since my husband loves peanut butter pie, ill give it a shot for my next dinner party.
    -Shannon the Crumb Cake Queen

  2. Lan
    July 31, 2012 at 11:53 am

    I don’t have any point of reference as I’ve only made this once with chocolate graham crackers. I’d probably add some more butter next time so the crust wasn’t as crumbly. I’d imagine Oreo cookies have a bit more moisture and would hold together better. Use what you like–the recipe is flexible!

  1. April 14, 2012 at 3:15 pm

Leave a Reply

