Home > food, Italian, leftovers, meat, San Francisco, sandwich > Birthday Feast #3: Roli Roti Porchetta & Roast Pork Loin Sliders w/caramelized onions

Birthday Feast #3: Roli Roti Porchetta & Roast Pork Loin Sliders w/caramelized onions

Porchetta & Pork Loin Sliders w/Caramelized Onions

This is where the pictures get even more incomplete! Above are some sliders I made with a mix of leftover porchetta, roast pork and caramelized onions the next day for hangover lunch. If I had arugula, I would have added that too.

If you’ve never had a Roli Roti sandwich before, get yourself to San Francisco’s Ferry Building on a Saturday for one–yummy roast pork belly wrapped around pork tenderloin and spices with arugula and caramelized onions on a crusty roll. They published their recipe for porchetta a few months ago, but at 7 lbs of meat, it was definitely something I needed guests to help me finish. Through some miscommunication with the butcher at the Asian market who didn’t speak the same language as me, my 5 lb piece of pork belly came in two pieces and my 2 lbs of pork tenderloin also came in two pieces, which resulted in a bit of a franken-pork roast. Compounded by the fact that I’ve never tied meat before, it was a bit messy (but it was fine):

Porchetta a la Roli Roti

The sloppily-tied porchetta ready to go in the oven.

And because I am my mother’s daughter, at the last minute I roasted two extra pounds of pork tenderloin so that we wouldn’t run out of food. The porchetta could have used a little more salt and I should take more care next time to tie things up more tightly. My meat thermometer was at my friend’s house so I just had to hope that things were cooked through, which they fortunately were. At least nobody complained of being sick. The cap on the pork was delicious though it reminded me that I need to get my knives sharpened…my hands got tired slicing the meat after a while. Perhaps an electric carving nice would be handy. The porchetta is definitely a special occasion dish whereas the roast pork tenderloin is a simpler everyday dish.

I had planned on serving these on mini ciabatta rolls but I didn’t have time to make my own and they didn’t have any at the store. Instead, I picked up a mix of mini sourdough, sweet and whole wheat rolls.

We had both kinds of pork left over which we used to make more sliders as you see above. We also added the pork to our salads and ramen during the week–yum!

Caramelized Onions

Caramelized Onions

Finally, for the caramelized onion jam, I used this recipe but chopped the onions instead of slicing them. Next time, I would dice them so the jam is more refined and less chunky. I just wasn’t really paying attention and started chopping them like I would for almost every other recipe. These were also delicious on top of the baked potato casserole.

Coming up…the last installment of Joel’s birthday feast, a no-bake peanut butter pie.

Leave a Reply

