Home > sides, Southern, vegetables > Birthday Feast #2: Baked Potato Casserole

Birthday Feast #2: Baked Potato Casserole

Baked Potato Casserole

The only picture I have of the baked potato casserole…right before I popped it into the oven.

I discovered baked potato casserole at an airport in Texas (either Dallas or Austin) earlier this year. I was hungry and knew I wouldn’t get to eat for another 2-3 hours. I didn’t want fast food and had had my fill of BBQ’d meats. I really just needed a snack and saw “baked potato casserole” listed as a side at one of the BBQ places…intriguing! I got an ice cream scoop-sized serving and the hunger monster was sated for a few hours.

I knew Joel would love this. As I mentioned, in the last post, we don’t eat a lot of potatoes at home. If I didn’t make it for his birthday, we’d have to wait until Thanksgiving before this would have another opportunity to make it on the table. Its decadent, a little over the top, and stick to your ribs delicious.

The recipe below filled my 9×13 lasagna pan to the brim. If all you have is a 9×11, you probably want to cut the recipe by 1/4 or have a second smaller casserole dish for the overflow. This will serve a TON of people. If I were to make it again for the two of us, I’d only make 1/4 of the recipe.

Twice Baked Potato Casserole (from Emeril)

  • 10 large russet  potatoes (~7 lbs)
  • 8 Tbsps (1 stick) plus 1 Tbsp unsalted butter, room temp
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 2 tsps salt
  • 1.5 tsps ground black pepper
  • 3/4 lb bacon, cooked & crumbled
  • 1.25 lb shredded cheddar
  • 1/2 cup chopped green onions
  • 3 eggs, lightly beaten
  1. Wash potatoes & stab each a few times with a fork. Bake the potatoes for 1-1.5 hours in 400F oven until tender.
  2. When potatoes are cool enough to handle, cut potatoes in half and scoop out as much flesh as possible into a really large bowl.
  3. Add 1 stick of butter, sour cream, heavy cream, salt and pepper. Mash until chunky smooth. Add bacon, 1 lb cheddar, green onions and eggs. Mix well.
  4. Butter casserole dish with remaining Tbsp of butter. Place potato mixture in casserole dish and sprinkle with remaining cheddar.
  5. Bake for 35-40 minutes at 375F until heated through and cheese is melted and golden.

I threw away the potato skins but you could easily sprinkle some cheddar, bacon and onions on top and bake them in the oven for a quick snack. Top with a dollop of sour cream and you’re set!

Categories: sides, Southern, vegetables Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

