Home > appetizers, bacon, dip, food > Birthday Feast #1: Jalapeno Popper Dip

Birthday Feast #1: Jalapeno Popper Dip

Jalapeno Popper Dip

Last weekend was my boyfriend’s birthday. To celebrate, I thought he’d enjoy some comfort foods  that he doesn’t often get living with a Vietnamese Californian. Our standard weekday meals are kitchen sink salads, soups or noodles. Creamy dips are usually relegated to the Super Bowl or other milestone sporting events where I know other people will help us enjoy the gluttony. Potatoes almost never make it into the rotation unless I am thickening a soup in lieu of cream. Dessert? I definitely make bake but dessert around here is usually whatever fruit is in season.

In forthcoming posts, you will see a baked potato casserole, roast pork loin, a Roli Roti-style porchetta, caramelized onions, and a peanut butter pie. The food isn’t very well documented as we had friends and family over while I was finishing up. Much like I don’t like to spend too much time documenting food when I eat out, I would much rather spend time chatting with friends than taking the perfect photo (or any at all, in some cases).

Today, we’ll start with the appetizer: jalapeno popper dip. I first saw this on Pinterest on Super Bowl Sunday and knew this would certainly be a crowd pleaser because the bacon-wrapped jalapeno poppers are always a hit. I already had other plans for Super Bowl so I just had to wait for the next opportunity. As predicted, this was a hit.

The original recipe is written for a 9×13 casserole dish but I split it into two smaller dishes since some of the guys were coming over early to watch basketball. The second batch didn’t make it out for his birthday, but it kept in the fridge for a week and I brought it to my family’s Easter lunch, where it also got rave reviews. Then again, how can something be bad with cheese, bacon and jalapenos?

I chopped the garlic and jalapenos in the food processor. I made the mistake of seeding the jalapenos…of course, its always a bit of roulette with jalapenos but next time I would add an extra jalapeno to get a little more of that flavor and heat.

Jalapeno Popper Dip

Jalapeno Popper Dip (from Joy the Baker)

  • 16 ounces cream cheese, at room temperature
  • 1 cup mayonnaise
  • 8 pieces of bacon, cooked and chopped
  • 6 jalapeños, minced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • ½ tsp cumin
  • 1.5 cups shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 cup panko breadcrumbs
  • 1 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 4 Tbsps unsalted butter, melted
  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.
  2. Combine the cream cheese, mayonnaise, bacon, jalapenos, garlic, cumin and cheddar cheese in a mixing bowl. Pour the mixture into a casserole dish or 9×13 baking dish.
  3. Combine the panko, Parmesan and melted butter in a small bowl, tossing with a fork until the mixture is evenly moistened. Sprinkle evenly over the cream cheese mixture.
  4. Bake in the preheated oven for 25 to 30 minutes, until the top is golden brown and the dip is bubbling.
  5. Let rest for 5 minutes before serving. Serve with tortilla chips.
Tourists in our own city for amazing race sf

I can't remember ever riding a cable car though I grew up in the Bay Area and have lived in SF for almost 10 years. It took a charity-benefit scavenger hunt for us to get on one (we didn't actually ride it).

Categories: appetizers, bacon, dip, food Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 218 other followers

