Home > food, Greek/Middle Eastern > Beef & Eggplant Stew w/Couscous

Beef & Eggplant Stew w/Couscous

Beef & Eggplant over cous cous

There’s an Afghan restaurant near my office that has a beef and eggplant dish that I just can’t get enough of. Since eggplants are plentiful at the farmer’s market, I thought I would try to make something similar. Though the Afghan version and the original recipe both use stew meat, I opted for ground beef because I wanted a smoother texture. I love the smooshiness of the eggplant, the saltiness of the feta and the bitterness of the parsley.

I served the stew over whole wheat couscous cooked with beef broth and chopped green olives and parsley. Because I was traveling for work, I put half in the freezer for another time. I think I will make some sort of pastitsio-like dish (baked pasta).

Beef and Eggplant Stew

  • 2 lbs lean stewing beef (cut into chunks) or ground beef
  • 2 onions, sliced thin
  • 2 minced garlic cloves
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 8 Japanese eggplants (I used a mix of Italian & Chinese)
  • 1 cup beef stock
  • 1 (1 lb) can tomato sauce
  • 1 Tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp sugar
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp allspice
  • 1/8 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/4 cup minced parsley
  • feta cheese
  1. Cut eggplant into 1 inch thick segments
  2. Brown beef and set aside.
  3. Sautee onions, garlic and eggplant in olive oil until soft.
  4. In a large pot, combine the beef stock with the vegetables, meat, tomato sauce, vinegar, sugar, spices, and salt and pepper to taste.
  5. Cover and simmer on low until eggplant is smooshy (2-3 hours).
  6. Serve over pasta or couscous, garnishing with feta and minced parsley.
The recipe was originally written for a crock pot (8-10 hours on low).

Beef & Eggplant over cous cous

Beef & Eggplant over cous cous

Categories: food, Greek/Middle Eastern Tags:
  1. tl
    October 31, 2011 at 8:55 am

    i’m making cous cous tonight as well!

  1. May 8, 2013 at 12:15 pm

Leave a Reply

