Home > Asian, roast chicken, salad > Chinese Chicken Salad

Chinese Chicken Salad

September 5, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Chinese chicken salad

And…back to our efforts to eat healthier…

I have a weakness for Chinese/Oriental/Asian chicken salads. If I see one on a menu, I will always order it. My mom had a recipe for a Chinese chicken salad dressing that was mostly vegetable oil and sesame oil, which I didn’t love. I looked around on the web for something that would be a bit more complex…I used this recipe from Food Network for the dressing, which I prep in the food processor::

  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1.5 tsp ginger
  • 3 Tbsps low-sodium soy sauce
  • 1/3 cup rice wine vinegar
  • 2 Tbsp canola oil
  • 1.5 tsp sesame oil
  • 2 Tbsp brown sugar
  • 1.5 tsp chili sauce

Bingo! We ate this salad twice for dinner this week. The first time, I shredded carrots, jicama and Napa cabbage (turned out to be 5-6 servings per head) in the food processor. The Napa cabbage ended up a little too fine and fluffy for my tastes (pictured above), so the second time I only put the carrots and jicama through the food processor and used a knife on the Napa cabbage (much better!).

In addition to jicama, carrots and Napa cabbage we added cilantro, peanuts, mandarin orange slices and roast chicken to the salad. (We often roast a chicken on Sunday nights to top our salads and sandwiches during the week.)

Categories: Asian, roast chicken, salad Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 218 other followers

