Home > Asian, Korean, leftovers, meat, roast chicken > Bo Ssam (from David Chang of Momofuku)

Bo Ssam (from David Chang of Momofuku)

Momofuku's Bo Ssam

For my birthday, I had originally wanted to go to Incanto for the Leg of Beast dinner. A week before, I changed my mind and decided to cook my own hunk of beast at home for friends and family: 10.5 lbs of pork shoulder slow roasted in the oven and served with rice, lettuce, oysters, ginger scallion sauce, hot sauce and kimchee. This meal looks complicated but it is surprisingly easy, incredibly delicious and very interactive. Guests make their own lettuce cups and because dishes are being passed around to share, it feels kind of like Thanksgiving (or when my family did “make your own spring rolls” for dinner growing up).

Momofuku's Bo Ssam
10.5 lbs of pork shoulder marinating overnight

10.5 lbs of Bo Ssam
3 hours into the slow roast (halfway through)

Momofuku's Bo Ssam
Yummy meat fresh out of the oven

Momofuku's Bo Ssam
Passing food around

Momofuku's Bo Ssam

The recipe for Bo Ssam was from David Chang recipe courtesy of Martha Stewart. While the basic recipe was great, I found the proportions a bit off. For example, 2 cups of cooked rice for 8 Asians is laughable.

Notes:

  • I bought a 10.5 lb boneless pork butt from Costco which was a bit ridiculous for 8 people. 5-6 lbs of meat was quite sufficient. I threw the other half in the freezer and defrosted for another meal the following week…it was just as amazing the second time!
  • Double the ginger scallion sauce. Trust me.
  • Make 3-4 cups of uncooked rice…you can make Bo Ssam fried rice with leftovers the following day!

Shortcuts:

  • If you have a food processor, the ginger scallion sauce takes all of 2 minutes to pull together. I’ve been using the sauce in ramen and over rice as well.
  • If you’re short on time but want to give this a try, use roast chicken. This week, I made the same meal but with roast chicken, which is something I would definitely do again given the significantly shorter cooking time. Roast 2 chickens for 6-8 people.
  • Oysters: I just bought a jar of pre-shucked oysters at Costco. Easy!
  • Oh, and line your roasting pan with tin foil. I forgot and cleaning was kind of a pain…until I realized that Oxyclean is ok to use on dishes!
  • You can use any kind of hot sauce if you don’t feel like making the ssam sauce.

Momofuku's Bo Ssam
Beer & food with friends & family…another good birthday

Momofuku's Bo Ssam
sooooo good!

Momofuku's Bo Ssam
Leftover Bo Ssam fried rice

Oh, and the leftovers from this meal are awesome. Above is fried rice I made the following day with the leftover rice, meat, hot sauce and ginger scallion sauce. I’ll show you the sliders I made later.

You cannot believe how easy and delicious this meal is. You’ll just have to try it for yourself.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. August 14, 2011 at 10:36 pm
  2. August 16, 2011 at 12:33 pm
  3. January 5, 2012 at 1:11 pm
  4. May 24, 2013 at 3:19 pm
  5. January 23, 2014 at 12:33 pm

Leave a Reply

