Home > appetizers, food, Italian, pizza, snacks > Whole Wheat Pizza Bites

Whole Wheat Pizza Bites

Whole Wheat Pizza Bites

I hate showing up at someone’s house empty-handed. I learned it from my mom. She would always show up at peoples’ houses with something to share: a box of mangoes she got on sale, a bulging bag of goodies from her garden, a tiny pepper plant, or freshly baked zucchini bread.

Sure, wine is a no brainer but we eat at my cousins’ houses often enough that I feel like I should contribute something more. However, impromptu weeknight dinners always pose a challenge: what can I prepare in the 30-45 minutes I have between getting home and heading over for dinner?

Last week, it was pizza bites inspired by Annie’s Eats. I made a batch of Bittman’s whole wheat pizza dough the night before. We took walnut-sized balls of dough, flattened them out and stuffed them with various combinations of mozzarella cheese, pepperoni, marinara and sun-dried tomato pesto. I put the balls seam-side-down, brushed the tops with olive oil, and sprinkled parmesan cheese and oregano on top. I baked them at 400F for about 20 minutes.

Whole Wheat Pizza Bites

This version of pizza bites needs a bit more refinement. Luckily, my family doesn’t mind eating experiments. Notes for next time:

  • Marinara was too watery and made things soggy. Stick to pesto and dip the balls after they’re baked in marinara.
  • All my pizza bites were touching in a pyrex, which made them hard to pull apart (whole wheat dough is a bit stiffer). I’d rather bake them as individual balls rather than pull-aparts next time. The pictures above are from my two ball test batch, made in the toaster oven.
  • We had pepperoni bites cut into quarters but I’d rather they be diced.
  • Ideas for stuffing: sausage, mushroom, pesto, bruschetta, olive tapenade
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

