Home > pickles, vegetables, vegetarian > Pickled Things: Dill Pickles, Okra & Chinese Long Beans

Pickled Things: Dill Pickles, Okra & Chinese Long Beans

Pickled Stuff

More pickles!! I love getting a fresh pickle when I order a burger or sandwich so I don’t know why I didn’t try to make my own sooner. I looked up a few recipes online, picked up some cucumbers at the farmer’s market…and then picked up some okra to pickle for bloody marys.

I was originally going to use two separate brines (is that what its called?) but got lazy and used the same ratio of vinegar/water/salt for both the dill pickles and the okra (I threw in Chinese long beans because they were around). I only had table salt for this batch but just picked up a box of kosher salt for my next batch of pickles.

While I wasn’t completely satisfied with this batch of dill pickles (too much vinegar), the okra and beans turned out great! The beans were still surprisingly crisp and the okra were exactly as I remembered from New Orleans. I brought this batch of dill pickles over to a friend’s house to go with a smoked brisket (with an “its not perfect” caveat)…and the okra will go to my cousin. As soon as I have time to go to the farmer’s market, there will be more pickling…especially now that the beers have all moved to their own fridge…more room for pickles!

Dill Pickles

Just packed dill pickles (above) and okra & Chinese long beans (below)

Pickled Okra & Long Bean

Of the many recipes available online, I used this one as a reference. I ended up diluting the brine for the pickles 2 weeks later by replacing some of the pickling liquid with plain water…basic concepts of osmosis and salinity thanks to my high school biology class!

Pickling Liquid (good for okra & long beans, not great for dill pickles)

Enough pickling liquid for 1 half gallon jar and 1 quart jar:

  • 4.5 cups water
  • 4 cups white vinegar
  • 6 tablespoons kosher salt

In each jar, I added:

  • 2 bay leaves
  • 2-3 cloves garlic
  • 1 Tbsp pickling spices (you could assemble your own but I got lazy)
  • pinch of dried dill (couldn’t find fresh)
  • 2 dried chilies
  1. Bring pot of plain water to a boil (large enough to submerge your jars)
  2. Bring pickling liquid to a boil
  3. Fill jars with veggies, pickling spices and hot liquid
  4. Put the lid on and submerge in boiling water for 10 minutes. Let cool and leave for at least 10 days.

I think boiling the jar means that I don’t have to refrigerate the pickles. However, I prefer my pickles cold and crisp so I put them in the fridge once they cooled off. I didn’t boil the pickles…just let them cool off and they went into the fridge. Only four whole pickles fit into my half gallon Ball jar. I definitely should have bought more okra since I had quite a bit of room left in my quart jar.

Pickled Stuff

2 weeks in the fridge…pickle magic!

Pickled Stuff

Categories: pickles, vegetables, vegetarian Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. September 8, 2011 at 5:00 pm

Leave a Reply

