Home > Cajun > Gumbo

Gumbo

Gumbo & Rice

In my twenties, I visited New Orleans, fell in love with the food and used Zatarain’s mixes whenever I had a hankering for Cajun. These days, I generally don’t like to cook from a pre-packaged mix. I now have the skills, patience and confidence in the kitchen to make gumbo from scratch, and I like to know and control what goes into my food. However, a box of Zatarain’s Gumbo Base had made the move with us from Chicago and I am my mother’s daughter so I didn’t want it to go to waste.

We had Boccalone spicy sausages and red peppers left over from pizza night, shrimp and cod (I usually prefer catfish) in the freezer, and fresh okra (love love okra!) from the farmer’s market…the perfect storm for an easy batch of gumbo served over white rice.

Categories: Cajun Tags:
  1. Kathy
    July 20, 2011 at 11:49 am

    I am amazed at your ability/creativity to use leftovers and repurpose for a completely different meal!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

