Home > Asian, meat, Thai > Thai Basil Chicken (Pad Gra Pow Gai) w/Chinese Long Beans

Thai Basil Chicken (Pad Gra Pow Gai) w/Chinese Long Beans

Thai Basil Chicken w/chinese long beans

I had a ton of Thai basil left over from a batch of red tofu curry and wasn’t really sure what to do with it. Then my friend Tom blogged about Thai basil chicken. Great idea, since I also had kaffir lime leaves and birdseye chilies in the fridge as well. All I had to do was buy 1 lb. of boneless chicken thighs…and while I was at the market, I picked up some Chinese long beans to add some extra veggies to the mix.

Though I was inspired by Tom’s blog, I forgot to consult his recipe when I was actually making the dish and used this recipe instead. I only had thick soy sauce and not black soy sauce, which probably changed the taste a bit but its what I had. If I used thick soy sauce again, I would probably add a little bit of brown sugar to sweeten it up a bit.

Ingredients

  • 1 lb boneless chicken thighs, coarsely chopped, or cut into small bite-size pieces
  • 6 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 2 shallots, thinly sliced (or  1/2 cup sliced onion)
  • 2 tsp black soy sauce (I substituted with thick soy sauce, should probably supplement with some 1 tsp brown sugar next time)
  • 3 Tbsp fish sauce
  • 1+ cup fresh Thai holy basil (I only had Thai sweet basil. Different, but fine. I used the rest of the bunch, which was more than 1 cup)
  • 2 small kaffir lime leaves, very finely slivered
  • 5-10 Thai birdseye chilies (adjust to taste)
  • Dash of ground white pepper
  • 1.5 cups green beans or Chinese long beans

Directions

  1. Stir-fry garlic & shallots in hot oil until aromatic.
  2. Add chicken and brown.
  3. Add long beans.
  4. When long beans are almost al dente, stir in the chilies, kaffir lime leaves & soy sauce.
  5. Add fresh basil leaves and fish sauce to taste. Stir and mix well. Stir-fry another half a minute, or until the basil is wilted and the chicken is cooked through.
  6. Sprinkle with white pepper and serve with steamed rice.

NOTES

  • Put the chicken in the freezer to firm up before you chop. I didn’t have time, so I just used food scissors to cut the chicken into smaller pieces.
  • I had forgotten about the long beans until I was almost done cooking. I just set everything aside, sauteed the long beans on their own and added it to the mix when the beans were cooked through.

Thai Basil Chicken

Categories: Asian, meat, Thai Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. July 18, 2011 at 7:27 pm

Leave a Reply

