Home > food, leftovers, Mexican > Green Chile Enchiladas

Green Chile Enchiladas

Green Chile Enchiladas

I’m getting better at staring into our pantry for inspiration. I had anaheim chiles and corn tortillas in the fridge and a portion of pork chile verde in the freezer. I picked up some cotijo cheese and some of Rick Bayless’ Green Chile Enchilada Sauce (found at Whole Foods). Though I’ve never made enchiladas before (nor do I ever order them), but my friend made them once for dinner over ten years ago.

I only had enough pork chile verde for 3 enchiladas, so I stuffed the other two with slices of roasted anaheim chiles and cotija cheese. Since I had leftover chunks of roasted chiles, I stuffed those with cheese and tucked those into the pan as well. Finally, I sliced some yellow squash for extra vegetables. Next time, I would shred the yellow squash and add it to the stuffing. Breakfast enchiladas (scrambled eggs, chorizo & zuchini?) would probably be good too!

Once everything was assembled, I poured the enchilada sauce (which matched perfectly with my chile verde) over the top, sprinkled on some cheese and baked it in the oven for 15-20 minutes at 375F.

Green Chile Enchiladas
Right before I put it in the oven

Categories: food, leftovers, Mexican Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

