Home > salad, sides, vegetarian > Watermelon Salad w/Mint & Feta

Watermelon Salad w/Mint & Feta

Watermelon, feta & mint salad

I hate watermelon. The only time I ever ate watermelon growing up was to participate in seed spitting contests. However, my cousin made a similar watermelon salad a few years ago and it turns out I like watermelon this way–tangy, salty and refreshing. I know it sounds like a weird combination but I assure you it is good!

We had half a watermelon left over from our 4th of July BBQ and I didn’t want to throw it away. I have a pot of fresh mint always at the ready (its impossible to kill!) and all we had to do was pick up some feta. The dressing was a simple vinaigrette of red wine vinegar, olive oil, salt, pepper and mint leaves.

I served this watermelon salad with homemade pizzanadas/empazones, which I’ll tell you about soon.

Dressing inspired by Paula Dean’s Watermelon Salad with Mint Leaves

Watermelon, feta & mint saladLove my vintage pyrex

Categories: salad, sides, vegetarian Tags: , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. July 8, 2011 at 11:47 am

Leave a Reply

