Home > appetizers, snacks > Wasabi Deviled Eggs

Wasabi Deviled Eggs

Wasabi Deviled Eggs

Deviled eggs make me think of food from the 70s and 80s–appetizers to be followed by a casserole containing cream of mushroom soup and a jello mold for dessert. It was one of the first things I learned to make from a kid’s illustrated cookbook that my mom bought. I rarely think about deviled eggs but they are always so good. I appreciate them when they show up at Joel’s family’s Thanksgivings…especially when his aunt adds bacon.

Deviled eggs must be making a comeback because both restaurants we considered for a Friday night date (Beast and the Hare and Blue Plate) had them on the menu. While we didn’t order them (we ended up at the former), I made them for a pizza night we hosted with family and friends the following night.

The yolks were mashed with a mixture of wasabi and plain kewpie (Japanese mayo), minced sweet pickle (bought by accident but now I have to use it), mustard and pepper. Once the consistency was to my liking (I don’t like a lot of mayo) I refilled the whites and dusted the top with paprika and truffle salt. They went fast!

Funny coincidence, my cousin almost made deviled eggs too.

Wasabi Deviled Eggs

Categories: appetizers, snacks Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

