Home > Mexican, pickles, vegetables > Mexican Pickled Carrots, Radishes & Jalapenos

Mexican Pickled Carrots, Radishes & Jalapenos

Mexican Pickles

My favorite taqueria is El Grullense, a chain based in Redwood City with 5-6 restaurants all within walking distance of each other. The one I go to most often is in a former A&W near the corner of El Camino and Jefferson. Not only is it just a few blocks from where I grew up, but this location has an awesome pickle and salsa bar (the sister restaurant kitty corner from here doesn’t have one). I usually order a mix of tacos with al pastor and carnitas and then head straight to the bar to grab some fresh salsas, a few slices of cucumber and a heaping pile of pickled carrots and jalapenos.

Since we make tacos once in a while and our supply of giardiniera was running low, I thought I’d try making some Mexican pickles. Many of the recipes I found online required boiling the carrots for five minutes, which I knew I wouldn’t like. I hate mushy carrots and know that I like my pickled carrots raw based on my experience making Vietnamese do chua and giardiniera.

We have been eating these pickles with our sausage sandwiches–one of our go to meals on nights we get home from the gym at 8:30pm and need to eat ASAP. Later this week, we’ll be serving these pickles with some fish tacos.

Mexican Pickles

  • 4-5 peeled carrots sliced on the diagonal
  • 2 jalapenos sliced
  • 1 bunch of radishes quartered
  • 2 cloves of garlic thinly sliced
  • 1.5 tsp oregano
  • 1.5 cups white vinegar
  • 1.5 cups water
  • 3/4  tsp sugar
  • 3 tsp salt
  1. Bring to boil vinegar, water, sugar, salt and oregano.  Simmer until sugar & salt dissolve (1-2 minutes)
  2. Mix carrots, radishes, jalapenos and garlic in glass jar.
  3. Pour hot liquid into jar with vegetables until everything is covered (toss the rest or make more liquid if you don’t have enough).
  4. Allow mixture to cool, put a lid on and refrigerate.

Notes: I think next time, I will omit the radishes because the vinegar bleached the red outside and turned the pickling juices a little pink. More importantly, they didn’t retain their crunch. More jalapenos would also be nice and maybe some cauliflower or fresh oregano.

Mexican Pickles

Mexican Pickles

  1. No comments yet.
  1. July 8, 2011 at 11:47 am
  2. September 9, 2012 at 8:07 pm
  3. May 30, 2013 at 9:54 am
  4. October 27, 2015 at 1:08 pm

Leave a Reply

