Home > Asian, food, San Francisco > Sushi Burritos

Sushi Burritos

Sushi BurritosWasabi tuna salad w/pickled burdock & avocado sushi burrito

My first year out of college was the tail end of the internet bubble. Rent was insane, gobbling up a big part of my paycheck and leaving little left over for everything else. Although I loved sushi, I couldn’t really afford to eat it very often…so I tried to make it myself with cheaper ingredients.

My first attempt consisted of nori and sushi rice wrapped around canned tuna salad and avocados. My knives were cheap hand-me-downs from my mom that weren’t sharp enough to cut through the sushi roll without smashing everything out the ends. So I gave up on cutting the rolls and ended up with what I called sushi burritos. Usually they were stuffed with a mayonnaise-based salad made from canned tuna, salmon or chicken. Other times they were stuffed with leftover Korean BBQ. If I splurged, I would actually have raw fish from the Tokyo Fish Market.

As my paycheck increased, I ate out almost exclusively…the sushi burritos were forgotten…until a Kellogg classmate opened Sushirrito in downtown SF. I don’t work downtown so haven’t had the opportunity but by all accounts I’ve heard they’re doing great!

Sushi rice is pretty easy: 2 cups of rice & 3 cups of water in the rice cooker. 2 tbsp. sugar, 2 tbsp. rice vinegar, 1/2 tsp. kosher salt in the microwave for 30 seconds. Mix it all together when the rice is cooked.

However, I didn’t find rolling everything myself was worth the effort (go to Sushirrito!). For lunch the next day, we ate leftovers in the form of sushi bowls. Furikake made up for the lack of nori.

Sushi Burritos

Sushi BurritosUni roll with wasabi

Sushi Burritos

Categories: Asian, food, San Francisco Tags: ,
  1. geraldo
    June 7, 2011 at 9:54 am

    Damn – this is making me hungry… even after eating a meal 30min ago.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

