Home > food, Latin American, Mexican > Pork Chile Verde w/Spanish Rice

Pork Chile Verde w/Spanish Rice

Pork Chile Verde w/Spanish Rice

When I eat Mexican food, it is almost always from a truck or a taqueria. Sitting down at a Mexican restaurant is a rare…and ordering chile verde has never happened. I must have taken a delicious bite off of someone’s plate long ago because last week, I was suddenly craving chile verde.

I mostly used Simply Recipes for ingredients but also consulted Food Network for spices and technique. For the chiles, I used 2-3 roasted Anaheims, 2-3 roasted Poblanos, 2 Serranos and 2 Jalapenos. I only had 2.5 pounds of pork, but would keep the same amount for next time–extra sauce is good! I had enough chicken stock left over from my Khao Man Gai, and added cumin, coriander and oregano to the mix. Originally, I had intended to add masa towards the end of the stew but the texture seemed fine. Now I have extra masa harina so I guess I’ll try making my own tortillas at some point.

For the Spanish rice, I again consulted Simply Recipes, also using leftover broth from the Khao Man Gai. I added some plum tomatoes that were going bad in the fridge, halved the onions, sauteed the onions & garlic, and threw it all into the rice cooker. Next time, I would use less oregano…or even try cilantro lime rice…or chile verde tacos!

Pork Chile Verde w/Spanish Rice

Pork Chile Verde w/Spanish Rice

Pork Chile Verde w/Spanish Rice

Categories: food, Latin American, Mexican Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. July 17, 2011 at 11:13 am

Leave a Reply

