Home > Asian, soup, Vietnamese > Canh Chua w/Catfish & Shrimp

Canh Chua w/Catfish & Shrimp

Canh Chua

It has been years since I’ve made canh chua though I have never made it with traditional Vietnamese ingredients. When I first moved to SF from the East Bay, I had Filipino roommates who made a similar tamarind soup (sinigang) with the same Knorr tamarind soup base packets. Sourcing ingredients for their version was a whole lot easier than my mom’s version.

Last week I was craving soupy rice during a trip to 99 Ranch and picked up everything I needed for a “traditional” Vietnamese canh chua (at least in my household):

  • Bac ha – a spongy celery-like vegetable I’ve never cooked with before; thinly sliced 3 pieces
  • Ngo om – a green that I’ve also never cooked with before
  • Okra – about a dozen sliced in half
  • Tomatoes – 2 large tomatoes quartered
  • Catfish – 2 steaks…definitely would use more next time
  • Shrimp – 1/2 lb…put it in later next time
  • Bean Sprouts – 2 fistfuls
  • 1/2 can of pineapple (I’m too lazy to cut a fresh one myself)

Thanks to Wandering Chopsticks for the inspiration and guidance. I used the Knorr packet but used the recipe to understand which ingredients I needed. Normally, I would have called my mom to ask her. Sadly, she’s not around anymore so I have to rely on the internet.

I served this over white rice with a side of our first batch of overly-salted Thai chicken sausage (next post coming soon). The picture isn’t the best because I was hungry!

Categories: Asian, soup, Vietnamese Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. March 10, 2011 at 11:09 am

Leave a Reply

