Home > appetizers, Asian, dip, meat, snacks, Vietnamese > Whiskey Chicken Liver Pate

Whiskey Chicken Liver Pate

February 16, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Whiskey Chicken Liver Pate

For my family’s Tet celebration last weekend, I brought pate, cheese and sliced baguettes. I grew up eating a lot of pate and several years ago, my parents sent me a recipe for Vietnamese pate that I never got around to making…until now. I pulled out the recipe but one of the ingredients was indecipherable (the only translation was fog…I asked my aunt who originally sent the recipe and she had no idea either!) So I found a simple recipe online.

Adjustments: I don’t drink bourbon but I do drink whiskey so used that instead. Next time, I would at least double (maybe even triple) the black pepper and add a pinch more salt. Vietnamese pate is very peppery and I missed that flavor in this version.

It makes quite a bit of pate…we had about 40 people over and a little over half of that container was eaten. I also had a small container at home.

p.s. It kind of made my dishwasher smell like wet dog but the taste is worth it!

Whiskey Chicken Liver Pate

Pate

Whiskey Chicken Liver Pate (adapted from epicurious)

  • 1.5 sticks (3/4 cup) unsalted butter
  • 1 small onion, minced
  • 1 large garlic clove, minced
  • 1 tsp minced fresh thyme or 1/4 tsp dried
  • 1 tsp minced fresh marjoram or 1/4 tsp dried
  • 1 tsp minced fresh sage or 1/4 tsp dried
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1/8 tsp ground allspice
  • 1 lb. chicken livers, trimmed
  • 2 Tbsps bourbon or whiskey
  1. Melt 1 stick of butter in large nonstick skillet over low heat. Saute onion & garlic until softened (~5 minutes).
  2. Stir in herbs, salt, pepper, all spice and livers. When livers are cooked outside but pink when cut open (~8 mins), stir in bourbon/whiskey and remove from heat.
  3. Puree mixture in a food processor until smooth. Transfer to serving crock and smooth out the top.
  4. Melt remaining 1/2 stick of butter in a saucepan over low heat. Set aside for ~3 minutes to cool. Add an herb garnish on top of the pate if you want to make it pretty. Skim the froth from the butter and spoon enough clarified butter over the pate to cover the surface.
  5. Chill pate for at least 2 hours before serving.
Categories: appetizers, Asian, dip, meat, snacks, Vietnamese Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

