Home > Asian, Vietnamese > Banh Trung

Banh Trung

February 13, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Banh Trung

I didn’t make this, but I ate it! This is banh trung, which is like the Vietnamese fruit cake of Tet. If you visit anyone or they visit you, this square rice brick wrapped in banana leaf is exchanged. My parents used to make these themselves, steaming dozens in a giant makeshift kettle (a metal garbage can) over a fire in our backyard to give to their friends. That doesn’t happen anymore but my dad still gave me one when I stopped by last week.

Banh trung is basically pork belly, mung bean and sticky rice wrapped in banana leaf and steamed. Growing up, my mom would cut a hunk, microwave it and serve it with a side of sugar. Once, I saw my uncle pan fry it and have preferred that method ever since. You get a crisp outside and a warm gooey inside. My dad also gave us some gio (steamed pork cake) which I served on the side.

Happy new year!

Banh Trung

Banh Trung

 

Categories: Asian, Vietnamese Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

