Home > appetizers, Booze, seafood, soup > Fish Stew & Julia Child’s Rouille

Fish Stew & Julia Child’s Rouille

Julia Child's Rouille

I just finished reading Julia Childs’ My Life in France and was inspired to make her bouillabaisse which is traditionally served with rouille (basically a roasted red pepper spread) on toasts. When I got to the fish market, I realized it would be kind of expensive to buy all the seafood for her bouillabaisse…plus this particular store only had salmon fish heads (probably my least favorite fish). So, I bought a pound of catfish filets and made a variation of a fish stew I’ve made in the past. This time, I used:

  • 1 leek
  • 2 shallots
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • handful of shrimp
  • 1 lb tilapia filet
  • 3 large roma tomatoes
  • handful of chopped parsley
  • 3 large chopped swiss chard leaves
  • 2 tbsp tomato paste
  • Kitchen Basics seafood stock & sake

Fish Stew

Fish Stew & Rouille on Sourdough

Though I didn’t make the bouillabaisse, I did make the rouille served on slices of sourdough baguette. Making this dish kept prompting me to sing 16 Going on 17 from the Sound of Music. Yeah, its “roues and cads and eager young lads,” but rouille fits right in there!

Rouille

  • 1/2 jar of roasted piquillo peppers
  • ground cayenne pepper to taste
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
  • 1 small peeled garlic clove
  • 1/4 cup panko breadcrumbs
  • 1/4 cup fresh parsley leaves
  • Fine sea salt, about 1/2 teaspoon or to taste
  • a couple slugs of olive oil

Puree everything except for the olive oil in a food processor until smooth. Slowly add the olive oil while processing to form a paste.

Ballast Point Imperial Porter

All of this was made while sipping on an Imperial Porter from Ballast Point. It is pretty good though the vanilla flavor is a bit strong for me.

Categories: appetizers, Booze, seafood, soup Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

