Home > appetizers, bacon, breakfast > Bacon Jam

Bacon Jam

December 27, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Bacon Jam

Last Christmas, Joel got me bacon jam that I really enjoyed. My friend just got out of cooking school and made a bacon jam for a potluck brunch last weekend and I REALLY enjoyed her bacon jam…moreso than the one Joel got me. While the jam Joel got me was more of a bacon & onion compote, my friend’s bacon jam had a sweetness to it that I really enjoyed. She gave me her recipe and I made it to go with the cheese plate at Christmas Eve dinner. My cousin described it as a “bacon chutney” which is a pretty good description…

Goes great with a cheese plate, on top of a breakfast casserole, smeared on a croissant…its delicious on everything! I wonder if Elvis would have eaten a peanut butter and bacon chutney sandwich??

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb bacon
  • 4 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 medium brown onion, sliced
  • 3 tablespoons brown sugar
  • Sriracha Sauce (optional) TT (I used hot pepper flakes instead)
  • ¼ cup apple cider vinegar
  • ¼ cup maple syrup
  • Black Pepper TT
  • Extra water
  • Salt TT
  • 1 to 2 green apple, small dice (I used 2)
  • ¼ teaspoon of Cinnamon
  • 1/8 teaspoon clove

Method:

  1. In a non stick pan, fry bacon in batches until lightly browned and beginning to crisp.  Using a pair of scissors cut into 1 inch pieces
  2. Fry the onion and garlic in the rendered bacon fat on medium heat until translucent. (I poured out most of the rendered fat and left just enough to fry the onions and garlic)
  3. Transfer bacon, onion and garlic into heavy based cast iron pot and add the rest of the ingredients except for the water.  Simmer for 2 hours adding ¼ cup of water every 25 – 30 mins or so and stir
  4. When finished cooking put in food processor.  Pulse for 2 to 3 seconds so that you leave some texture to the “jam” or  you can keep processing and make it a smoother and more paste like.

 

Categories: appetizers, bacon, breakfast Tags: ,
  1. cristina
    December 29, 2010 at 1:07 pm

    i made bacon jam using this recipe (http://www.notquitenigella.com/2009/10/08/bacon-jam-your-wildest-dreams-come-true/) over thanksgiving and it was a huge hit. next time, i plan to modify the recipe by adding another 1/2 onion and throwing in a couple of chopped dried figs.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

