Home > appetizers, Greek/Middle Eastern, sides, snacks > Lamb & Potato Pies

Lamb & Potato Pies

December 26, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Lamb & Potato Pie

I went to a Middle Eastern grocery on the Peninsula to look for some tarama to make taramasalata. Though I didn’t quite find what I was looking for, I did pick up some pre-made dough perfect for meat pies (I think its intended for spanakopita). I had been craving meat pies; I was remembering the snack-sized meat pie from Hoosier Mama Pie Company that I had at the Green City Market on my last morning in Chicago.

I sauteed:

  • 1/4 lb. ground lamb
  • small cooked potato (diced)
  • 1/3 white onion (diced)
  • handful chopped castelvetrano olives
  • dash of cinnamon
  • salt & pepper to taste

When adding the filling, I sprinkled some feta on top. Fresh meat pies hot out of the oven–yum! I have more wrappers in the fridge to make more of these super simple (though not light) pies.

Lamb & Potato PieMeat mixture

Lamb & Potato Pie

Lamb & Potato Pie

Lamb & Potato Pie

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

