Home > Asian, leftovers, sandwich, seafood, Southern > Po’boys & Kaki Fry

Po’boys & Kaki Fry

December 10, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Oyster Po'boyOyster Po’boy

I have definitely been cooking but I just haven’t been very good about taking pictures, uploading them or making things that haven’t previously been documented.

I had oysters left over from the oyster dressing so I made some kaki fry (Japanese fried oysters with tonkatsu sauce) and used the rest for a po’boy. Joel’s not a huge fan of oysters so we gave a fillet of red snapper the same treatment as the oysters for some delicious weeknight po’boys.

These hoagie rolls were found at Whole Foods and they’re perfect for po’boys–we used the last two a few nights later for a simple thai chicken sausage sandwich (saved us as we had nothing else to eat after a weekend out of town!). We dressed the po’boys with fresh tomatoes, wasabi mayo and Frank’s Red Hot…but unfortunately forgot to pick up lettuce for that added freshness. Next time!

The batter is simply flour, eggwash and then panko & parsley:

Oyster Po'boy / Kaki Fry

This was my first time frying and now I know why my mom would always fry things in the back yard. It makes your house stink…but it sure tastes good. I forgot to close our bedroom door; in the middle of the night I had to get up and febreeze our room because the food smell kept me awake. Here’s a picture of my test batch:

Oyster Po'boy / Kaki FryTest oyster

Kaki FryA successful batch of kaki fry with tonkatsu sauce in a Fire King custard cup

Red Snapper Po'boyRed snapper po’boy

Dogfish HeadAll of this was washed down with Dogfish Head’s Theobroma brew

Coming soon: Sunday simmer sauce (aka the most pork I have ever cooked), mentaiko spaghetti and moussaka!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

