Home > soup > Moroccan Lentil Soup

Moroccan Lentil Soup

November 15, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Moroccan lentil soup

After a meat-filled weekend, I wanted to lighten up the week with a hearty vegetarian soup. Several years ago, I went to El Mansour, a Moroccan restaurant in San Francisco’s Outer Richmond, for a friend’s birthday dinner. I really enjoyed their lentil soup and eventually found this recipe. The only thing I can remember about the recipe is that I’ve made it once before. However, I have no notes on adjustments or flavor so I was flying blind the second time around.

I followed the recipe fairly closely except I added one chopped potato, several dashes of paprika and a teaspoon or two of salt. Though I like the flavor of the soup, next time I would make it with chicken broth for some more depth and flavor. JD really liked this soup (with pita chips) so its going into the rotation.

p.s. A hand blender really comes in handy for soups like this; no need to ladle hot soup into a blender.

Categories: soup Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

