Home > sweets > Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Cookies

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Cookies

November 13, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Peanut butter oatmeal chocolate chip cookies

Yeah, I’m totally behind. Work has been a beast though I still try to make time to cook when I get home from work at least a few nights a week.

My family came over to watch Game 3 of the World Series (that’s how behind I am). I made some buffalo dip, Joel made his famous guacamole and I prepped toppings for a pizza party. For dessert,  I had originally planned on making pumpkin cookies but my cousin had made pumpkin bars so I decided to make oatmeal chocolate chip peanut butter cookies instead. Midway through the recipe,  I realized that the cinnamon must have been in the box that went missing during our cross-country move.

Unfortunately, I had already put in the nutmeg (dummy mistake) so the cookies ended up tasting strongly of nutmeg, which nobody seemed to mind. However, next time I would probably omit the cinnamon & nutmeg entirely and add a few more chocolate chips. Some of my cookies lacked chips!

Stay tuned for kitchen sink ragu, moroccan lentil soup and kitchen sink pasta.

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Cookies

Adapted from Guilty Kitchen which was adapted from Gourmet

1 1/2 cups quick cooking oats
2 cups all purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp freshly grated nutmeg
1 tsp cinnamon
1 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
1/2 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup dark brown sugar, packed
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
3/4 cup peanut butter (smooth, chunky, natural, whatever)
2 eggs
1 cup dark chocolate chips or chunks

1. In a large bowl, stir together dry ingredients.
2. In a separate bowl, cream together butter and sugars.
3. Beat in vanilla, peanut butter and eggs. Add flour a little at atime and mix until completely incorporated.
4. Stir in chocolate chips and do one of two things: Roll into 2 logs, 2 inches in diameter and refrigerate for 2 hours OR spoon onto baking sheets lined with parchment paper, spacing 1 1/2 inches apart and flattening into cookie shapes and bake right away. The chilling does help a bit in the forming process but I found it somewhat unnecessary. (If you do refrigerate the dough, simply cut into discs, roll around a bit to soften edges, flatten, and bake for the same amount of time).
5. Bake at 350°F for 13-15 minutes.

Categories: sweets Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

