Home > Latin American > Chile Relleno Casserole

Chile Relleno Casserole

Chile Relleno Casserole

Our cleaning lady in Chicago is from El Salvador. A few months ago, she brought over chile rellenos for us and I have been thinking about them ever since. I have never actually ordered chile rellenos because they’re usually stuffed with copious amounts of cheese that would spell digestive disaster for me. However, I’ve had bites of other peoples’ chile rellenos and always liked them. However, Nellie’s was stuffed with a tuna mix which I really enjoyed and have been craving ever since.

I didn’t get a chance to satisfy that craving until we moved to San Francisco and my kitchen finally arrived. As soon as we unpacked, I went out to the Allemany Farmer’s Market and picked up fresh eggs and poblano chiles and got to work. I halved this recipe with the following modifications:

  • Used an 8×8 pyrex for the halved recipe which fit perfectly
  • Used Soyrizo instead of chorizo. Soyrizo has a good flavor but a weird mushy texture. I’d maybe try some sort of tuna mix next time?
  • Skipped the cotija cheese and just used the same mexican mixed cheese that I did on top. Cotija probably would have been better, but I didn’t feel like buying a second cheese
  • Served with warm corn tortillas

Roasting the poblano chiles directly over the stove was kind of fun. However, peeling them was not so fun–it took a while. I’d never used fresh oregano before but really enjoyed the flavor–and fresh herbs are so cheap at the farmer’s market! Some of the reviews mentioned that the casserole was too “brunchy” but I didn’t think so! I would definitely make this again.

Finally, I’m still figuring out how to work in my new kitchen but I definitely miss my Chicago kitchen!

Chile Relleno Casserole

Chile Relleno Casserole

Chile Relleno Casserole

Categories: Latin American Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

