Home > food > A second life for leftovers

A second life for leftovers

Baked pasta

I am incapable of cooking for just two so we always have leftovers. Sometimes, inspiration hits and leftovers get a new life. Joel made pasta with red sauce and turkey meatballs for dinner the night I got in from a four-day East Coast trip. After a long, cross-country flight it made me so happy to return to a home-cooked meal.

A few days later, we had a bit of pasta left over so I doctored it up with sauteed onions, chopped banana squash and one meatball left over from our dinner at Beretta the night before. I topped it with some leftover cheese and baked it in the oven for a little bit and lunch was ready.

Cauliflower, chard, olives and garbanzos

This started as our usual roasted cauliflower with garbanzo beans and olives. I added some chopped swiss chard from the Sunday Civic Center farmer’s market and some drippings from the chicken we roasted and we had a nice side of colorful veggies to go with our roast chicken.

Stay tuned for a Chile Relleno Casserole…its on my digital camera and my new laptop doesn’t have an SD card reader (I know, weird, right?).

Categories: food
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

