Home > food > Cheese grits w/spinach, corn & shrimp

Cheese grits w/spinach, corn & shrimp

September 3, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Jack cheese grits w/spinach, corn & shrimp

I have about ten days left in Chicago before the trucks come to pick up our stuff…which means I really need to get through the pantry and freezer. I think we will get there (assuming I haven’t packed away too much of the vital kitchen stuff). Luckily, my best friend just moved to Chicago so all of the condiments in the fridge won’t have to get dumped…hooray for recycling!

I used the last of the chicken broth and opened a new tub of grits from the pantry. I have confidence we’ll get through these grits by the time we leave (I found a can of Spam in the pantry!). I’m almost to the bottom of a 2 lb bag of shrimp and we’ll be out of protein in this house. (I bought the bag of frozen shrimp back when we hosted the crawfish boil because I was worried that we wouldn’t have enough food–a common worry among the women in my family though no one has ever left a party hungry.) I also found some frozen corn and spinach…and a cube of monterey jack cheese. Stirred it all up, topped with fresh ground pepper and a healthy dose of Frank’s Red Hot and we have a hearty breakfast!

To make it extra hearty I could put a fried egg on top, but we only have one egg left, which I’ll save for something else.

Categories: food Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

