Home > appetizers, Chicago, vegetables, vegetarian > Roasted Artichokes

Roasted Artichokes

Roasted Artichoke

I came across a post about roast artichokes on Pinch My Salt and thought it might be a good alternative to the steamed artichokes I grew up eating in Northern California. Not only was it a new preparation for whole artichokes but it would definitely reduce my mayonnaise intake. I prepared it almost exactly as Pinch My Salt suggested except I sliced the garlic to make it easier to tuck between the leaves. I also didn’t have heavy duty aluminum foil and the suggested doubling up didn’t seem to help. The stems ended up burning through the bottom of the tin foil which resulted in a browner and crispier artichoke than anticipated. However, after I peeled the charred part away, it was velvety and delicious!

I just need to pick up some heavy duty aluminum foil and this will be going into our regular vegetable rotation!

Roasted Artichoke

Roasted Artichoke

Roasted Artichoke

Roasted Artichoke

And stay tuned for some upcoming cooking extravaganzas…we’ll be hosting both a crawfish boil and a cookout within the next few weeks!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

