Home > Chicago, food, sweets > Salad, cookies & curds

Salad, cookies & curds

Kitchen sink salad w/grilled shrimp

Let it be known that this will be a pretty random post.

Pictured above is a typical lunch for us: baby spinach, chopped fruits and veggies from the fridge and whatever protein we may have lying around topped with almonds, black pepper, and Japanese miso dressing. This particular salad features leftover grilled yellow squash & zucchini, chopped celery, nectarines & carrots, and grilled shrimp (seasoned with chili powder, cumin, salt & pepper).

Fried cheese curds

I’ve been eyeing the fried cheese curds at Small Bar on Division for a while now. However, I knew that I would love them but that they would make me fat, so I have successfully avoided them…until the Do Division Street Fest last weekend. We had been drinking for several hours and there were five of us to share the calories, so I finally relented. They taste a lot like the fried mozzarella sticks from my youth (but better). I’m glad I tried them!

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

Finally, I baked a full batch of oatmeal peanut butter cookies that turned out a little differently than my last batch. I followed the exact same recipe…but these cookies were not as flat/crispy/gooey as the last batch (which I prefer). Nobody else seemed to mind though. The only differences from last time:

  • Used creamy peanut butter instead of chunky
  • Finally bought and used a cookie scoop (so much easier than hand rolling balls)
  • Bought generic quick oats instead of Quaker

Oh well–they were a hit at the potluck I brought them to and they were also appreciated at the She & Him free concert at Millennium Park the next day:

She & Him @ Millennium Park

Chicago is awesome when it isn’t winter. I would love to stay here for a few more years but the odds aren’t looking good…

Categories: Chicago, food, sweets
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

