Home > Italian > Leek & prosciutto risotto

Leek & prosciutto risotto

Leek & prosciutto risotto

I’m sure you’re tired of looking at risotto, but I am not tired of making it.

I had planned on making some fresh stock with the roast chicken carcasses I have in the freezer. However, I ran out of time but still wanted risotto so I just used plain stock. I also got careless and forgot to separate the leeks from the shallots & garlic, so I just left half in to cook with the risotto the whole time and threw in the other half at the very end. Also, I didn’t have any dry white wine or sake lying around so I threw in some vodka instead…seemed fine but I don’t think it made much of a difference either way. I finished it with a hunk of parmesan I found in the fridge but that didn’t seem to be enough.

I was worried that the prosciutto would be too salty so I watered down the chicken stock a little bit–MISTAKE! The leeks are so sweet and the prosciutto so delicate that I had to add extra blue cheese to the dish. Next time, I would use ham or something and not water down the stock.

Picked up some truffled salt at the Chopping Bloc this weekend…will go great on top of my scrambled egg toasts.

Leek & prosciutto risotto

I also grilled some veggies (yellow squash, zucchini and portabellas). I learned that grilling portabellas whole is much easier than grilling them pre-sliced, as I had done a few times before. Great as a side dish (quickly marinated with olive oil, salt & pepper) and also great on top of salads (what we did with the leftovers).

Grilled Veggies

Grilled Veggies

3 burners!

Simultaneously worked on three burners…yay me!

Categories: Italian Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

