Home > appetizers, dip, Italian, sides, snacks, vegetables, vegetarian > Eggplant & Portabella Caponata

Eggplant & Portabella Caponata

Roasted Eggplant & Portabella Caponata

The other night, I had dinner at Union Pizzeria (Evanston, IL) with a friend. He has self-imposed diet restrictions that I can’t keep straight so I just err towards vegetarian options when we eat together. I really like Union’s pizzas as they are light and fresh. They also have a great beer and wine list and the open space reminds me of San Francisco restaurants.

One of the things we ordered was eggplant caponata. I had no idea what to expect (and no idea what a caponata was) but we ordered it anyway since we both like eggplant. Obviously I really loved it because I made a HUGE batch the next evening! I based my version on these two recipes from New York Times and epicurious.

At Union, I liked the caponata so much, I put it on top of our mushroom pizza. Thus, I figured adding portabellas to the caponata would probably taste good. Ultimately, I ended up using:

  • 2 roasted eggplants
  • 2 red bell peppers
  • 1.5 white onions (because I found a half in the fridge)
  • 3 portabellas
  • 1 bunch basil (chiffonade)
  • 2 stalks celery
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 3 tbsp capers
  • a handful of kalamata olives
  • 14 oz. can of chopped tomatoes (including the juice)
  • red wine vinegar
  • olive oil
  • salt
  • pepper
  • sugar

It makes a GIGANTIC batch, but I’m so happy eating it, I really don’t care. Also, it just so happens to be vegan (at least I can’t think of anything that would make it not vegan). For dinner, I warmed sliced baguettes in the oven, made bruschettas and enjoyed them with a few glasses of wine. For breakfast the following morning, I mixed the caponata with some leftover whole wheat shells I found in the fridge. Sprinkled some cheese on top…yum!

Roasted Eggplant & Portabella CaponataRoasted eggplant

Roasted Eggplant & Portabella CaponataSauteeing everything together

Roasted Eggplant & Portabella CaponataAdding the roasted eggplant binds the whole thing together

Roasted Eggplant & Portabella CaponataYUM!!

  1. June 1, 2010 at 12:06 pm

    Caponata was the most amazing thing I ate on a trip to Sicily a couple of years ago. I’ve never really managed to recreate anything to the standard I had one night in a beautiful seafront restaurant in Taormina. I’m searching for the perfect recipe ever since! Thanks for this one. It certainly looks promising!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

