Home > Chicago, food, restaurants, San Francisco > Out & About in SF & Chicago

Out & About in SF & Chicago

Tartine's Bread Pudding

We went back to San Francisco this weekend to see my family. One of the places I have to stop at every time I go home is Tartine Bakery in the Mission. There’s always a line out the door but if you’re patient, you will be rewarded with the best croissants outside of Paris! Before heading down to see my dad, we shared a ham & asparagus croque monsieur with spicy pickled carrots and the bread pudding you see above. I can’t ever leave Tartine without a ham & cheese croissant, which we bagged up to go with a gougere and a chocolate croissant for our flight home the next morning.

There are many other must eats in San Francisco, but this trip was more about family than food. Perhaps I should have taken pictures of the full roasted pig at my dad’s. I was too busy taking pictures of all of my adorable nieces and nephews.

El Matate (Belmont, CA)

For some reason, I haven’t found carnitas in Chicago that is nearly as delicious as carnitas in the Bay Area. Yes, double fried pork is always delicious, but I haven’t found carnitas quite as heavenly as at El Grullense my favorite taqueria. Luckily, my dad’s house is walking distance to 3 locations. The picture above is of a carnitas taco (in a tortilla chip bowl) from El Matate in Belmont. Not as good as El Grullense but still better than anything I’ve found in Chicago.

Empanadas @ El Nandu

Finally, these empanadas are from El Nandu in Logan Square (Chicago). I like that they stamp and identify each empanada. We also ordered a lot of meat. In the future, I would recommend splitting a main plate as we have already had five subsequent meals with leftovers from four adults (short ribs over spinach salad) with enough for still one more meal.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

