Home > appetizers, food, sides, snacks, vegetables, vegetarian > Steamed Artichokes

Steamed Artichokes

Artichokes

Growing up in California, I ate a lot of artichokes. When they were in season, my parents would buy them from the farmer’s market and steam them for my brother and I to eat with mayonnaise. I don’t think we ate very much mayonnaise except during artichoke season.

While I’ve eaten plenty of artichokes, I had never prepared one myself. I’d seen my parents trim them and I knew you had to boil/steam them but I didn’t know for how long. Luckily, the internet told me. Since my steamer basket is somewhere in California, I trimmed two artichokes and put them in a few inches of water for 45 minutes with a clove of garlic, a slice of lemon and a bay leaf. I think the seasonings really enhanced the artichoke–it smelled so good as it was cooking! I made sure to turn the artichokes every once in a while so that it would cook evenly.

The artichokes turned out perfectly! I served them with a mixture of light mayo and wasabi mayo. Joel had never had simply steamed artichokes before, but we will definitely be eating them again soon.

Steamed Artichoke

  1. No comments yet.
  1. June 10, 2010 at 11:18 am

Leave a Reply

