Home > breakfast, food, Italian, leftovers, pasta, vegetables > Red chard & mushrooms: scramble & risotto

Red chard & mushrooms: scramble & risotto

Red chard, mushroom & chicken shawarma risotto

I did our usual grocery shopping on Sunday and loaded up on fresh fruits and vegetables but forgot to take into account that we had a few dinners planned and would also be leaving town for the weekend. So I put everything that I could into the freezer and tried my best to cook the rest before we left.

For breakfast one morning, I made a red chard, mushroom and queso fresco scramble. I sauteed mushrooms and red chard until it was cooked down, added a few cubes of queso fresco, and then just enough egg to hold it all together. I purposely made it heavy on the vegetables and light on the eggs. It was a hearty start to the day–I didn’t even need any toast.

Red chard &  mushroom scramble w/queso frescoRed chard, mushroom and queso fresco scramble

Since the scramble couldn’t accommodate the entire bunch of red chard (it doesn’t shrink as much as spinach) and mushrooms, I decided to make another risotto for lunch. I used white onions for the first time and wow–they’re so much sweeter and more delicate than yellow onions! Definitely going into my risottos from now on. I also used canned broth and freshly grated parmesan as well as chicken shawarma and rice left over from my lunch at Pita Inn.

Red chard, mushroom & chicken shawarma risotto

Red chard, mushroom & chicken shawarma risotto

I love risotto…the creaminess always surprises me since there is no butter or cream involved…its just the starches from the rice!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

