Home > food > Random Food: Dragon Fruit, Roasted Cauliflower & Vietnamese Sandwiches

Random Food: Dragon Fruit, Roasted Cauliflower & Vietnamese Sandwiches

Dragonfruit

After dinner at a Vietnamese restaurant on Argyle St. (we always go to Pho Xe Tang / Tank but this time tried Pho 777–not bad!), we stopped at an Asian market to pick up some groceries. I saw dragon fruit, which Joel had never tried before. Normally, I would have called my mom to ask how to choose a proper fruit. Since that is no longer an option, it is now a process of trial and error. The fruit looked delicious when I cut it open, but it tasted like dirt. I must have gotten lucky when picking a dragon fruit in Colombia…can someone tell me how to choose a good one?

Roasted cauliflower w/chickpeas, olives & gardiniera

Yes, roasted cauliflower with chickpeas, olives and gardiniera again. We haven’t gotten tired of this dish yet and it is so easy to make!

Ba Le Vietnamese Sandwich

Finally, this is a #1 Combo from the new (they moved to a nicer facility next door to the old one) Ba Le Bakery on Broadway & Argyle. I always order a few sandwiches to go with the veggies on the side so as not to get too soggy. When I am ready to eat one, I just pop the sandwich into the oven to get it warm and toasty and then put the veggies in. For the first time ever, they gave me some avocados for the sandwich too–not traditional, but still tasty. However, my favorite Vietnamese sandwiches can be found over at Nhu Lan. If I am feeling super lazy, I will pick up a sandwich at Bon Bon.

I often complain that Chicago has a dearth of good Asian food, but at least I can find some good Vietnamese sandwiches and a bowl of bun rieu when the mood hits me. Someone find me good ramen, izakaya, rijstaafel and dim sum and I will be a happy camper.

Categories: food
  1. August 1, 2013 at 4:48 pm

    I really love your website.. Pleasant colors & theme.
    Did you make this site yourself? Please reply back as I’m planning to create my very own blog and would love to learn where you got this from or just what the theme is named. Thanks!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

