Home > Asian, food, seafood, sides, soup, vegetables > Kale Two Ways (fish stew & sauteed w/mushrooms in oyster sauce)

Kale Two Ways (fish stew & sauteed w/mushrooms in oyster sauce)

Kale & mushrooms in oyster sauce

I’ve gotten into the habit of buying whatever vegetable happens to look the freshest at the store and figuring out what to do with it later. In fact, I currently have some red chard in the fridge and had no idea what to do with it until I got home to consult the internet. I guess I can use it in place of spinach.

I did not make enough fish stew the last time I made it, so I made another batch. This time, I added chopped kale, clam juice, canned tomatoes, catfish and tilapia to the stew. While it was tasty, it was not as good as the first batch for several reasons. First, canned tomatoes and kale both have a slightly sour taste, whereas last time, the leeks and seafood broth sweetened the stew quite a bit. Also, the catfish was a little bit stinkier than I had anticipated, which doesn’t really bother me, but if I were serving this to company, I would probably leave the catfish out.

Finally, we are trying to eat more vegetables around here, so I sauteed some leftover kale, mushrooms, garlic and oyster sauce for a nice side of vegetables.

Fish Stew #2

Categories: Asian, food, seafood, sides, soup, vegetables Tags: , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

