Home > pickles, roast chicken, sandwich, travels > Vietnamese-Belizean Chicken Tortas

Vietnamese-Belizean Chicken Tortas

Vietnamese/Belizean Chicken Sandwiches

I went to Belize in 2008 with three of my best girl friends and we fell in love with Marie Sharp’s Hot Sauce. Supposedly, the secret ingredient is carrots. Whatever it is, I find the hot sauce much more robust than something like Tabasco or Frank’s (though they both have their time and place). Last year, I ordered more bottles of Marie Sharp’s online and also found Marie Sharp’s Belizean Season All which is basically a wet rub for meats. I finally broke it out yesterday and made a roast chicken smothered in the Belizean Season All (basically a blend of anatto, vinegar, onions, spices, garlic and salt).

Roast Chicken w/Belizean marinade

I threw the chicken in the oven, we went for a run and on the way back, stopped at the local panaderia for some torta bread. Lunch was shredded, Belizean roast chicken on top of Mexican torta bread with wasabi mayonnaise, sliced avocados and Vietnamese pickled daikon and carrots. Joel’s sandwich also included Frontera salsa and pepper jack cheese. The sandwich was a bit big for me so I ate half for lunch and the other half later in the day. I also sauteed some sliced zucchini in chicken drippings and seasoned it with salt and pepper. I love zucchini!

Vietnamese/Belizean Chicken Sandwiches

Sauteed Zucchini

When we get a chance to go to the Korean market, I’d like to pick up ingredients for Korean tortas…and more Korean tacos! We made Korean tacos last year but only took Blackberry photos.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

