Home > seafood, soup > Tilapia & Shrimp Stew

Tilapia & Shrimp Stew

Tilapia & Shrimp Stew

Last week at The Publican, we had the Provencal fish stew with salt cod, shrimp, crab, clams, wild onions, potatoes and aioli which was quite delicious. Yes, they specialize in porky goodness but since this was my third time eating there, the stew was one of the dishes I still hadn’t tried yet.

After subsequent meals of booze ($10 all you can drink for 2.5 hours!), bar food, Pequod’s pizza, ballpark nachos and BBQ, I needed to follow up with something light…that also soothed my craving for more of that Provencal fish stew. I’ve had this recipe bookmarked for a while and a little over a pound of tilapia in the freezer. I picked the rest of the ingredients during my ceviche shopping trip.

Tilapia & Shrimp Stew

As usual, my modifications:

  • Used a half quart of homemade fish broth from Dirk’s, which is twice as much as the 8 oz. of clam juice called for in the recipe
  • Added 2 thinly sliced leeks in with the onions and garlic. Clearly, I was pretty tipsy at The Publican because I thought I remembered leeks in the soup. Oh well, this was a tasty addition though it might have sweetened up the soup a bit much
  • Added a shallot (of course) and an extra clove of garlic
  • Supplemented my tilapia with some jumbo shrimp to get the seafood up to 1.5 lbs.
  • Probably ended up using 1.5 cups of fresh tomatoes and 3 tbsp. of tomato paste
  • Served with crusty sourdough baguette which I tore into little pieces and mixed into the soup when I was ready to serve

This is an amazingly quick and easy to make light soup that’s great in any weather. From start to finish it probably took less than fifteen minutes. It was soooooo tasty I was sad that there were no leftovers. The other nice thing is that its very flexible. You can use any seafood you want. If you don’t have fresh tomatoes, you can substitute canned tomatoes. Throw in whatever vegetables you want–maybe some potatoes in the winter or corn in the summer?

Categories: seafood, soup Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. January 24, 2011 at 6:52 pm

Leave a Reply

